Department of Political Science

  • About
  • Facully Profile
  • Academic Resource
  • Routine
  • Question Bank
  • Gallery

The Department of Political Science kicked off its journey with a very few students of B.A Pass Course (Old Syllabus). Initially it was Prof. Kartick Das (currently in Coochbehar Panchanan Barma University) who picked up all the papers of Political Science. Later in 2017, he was assisted by a Guest Teacher in taking classes for the pass course. Presently, both these teachers are betrothed in upgraded positions in other colleges and universities. In 2018, Sri Sanjay Biswas joined the department as Guest Teacher. Till then Political Science was taught only in the programme course (CBCS) and Pass Course (Annual System) of the college. In 2019, Dr. Ruman Sutradhar got associated with the college and joined as Assistant Professor in the Department of Political Science. Now, that there were two teachers in the department, one Assistant Professor and one SACT (Mr. Sanjay Biswas was upgraded from Guest Teacher as SACT), it was time to introduce Honours Course in the Department. Hence, with the approval of the University of North Bengal, Honours in Political Science was initiated in the year 2020 with 15 students as intake capacity. The year 2020 was very important for the Department as there were a series of events and initiatives taken by the department. The first Student Seminar of the Department as well as the College was organized by the Department with Smt. Ruman Sutradhar as Convenor and Head of the Department. She has also taken initiative to start the first Wall Magazine of the Department as well as the college under the title “POLITICUS”. Thus on 5th March 2020, there were two important events for the college and historic day for the department. The day started with the inauguration ceremony of the Ist Issue of Politicus by our esteemed guests Prof. Kartick Das of Coochbehar Panchanan Barma University and Prof. J.B. Nath of Alipurduar University; Sri. Ranjit Biswas, Teacher-in Charge of SSKC; and Organizer and HOD of the Department, Dr. Ruman Sutradhar. Our guest were our invited Keynote Speakers for the Student Seminar too, the event that last for the rest of day. The One-Day Student Seminar was conducted under the title “Constitutionalism and the Constitution of India”. Its major themes were Indian Constitution in Retrospect; Concepts of Equality, Liberty, Rights, Justice and Dignity in Indian Constitution; Fundamental Rights; Fundamental Duties; Part II of Indian Constitution; Gender and Indian Constitution.  Hence from 2020, another way of student’s expression was started in the college.
Currently, the Department has staunch commitments towards the progress of its students in its true spirit and in future too it will continue to work diligently for academic success of its students as well as the college as the sole unit of study.

  • Dr. Ruman Sutradhar(HOD)

    Assistant Professor

    View Profile
  • Mr. Sanjoy Biswas

    State-Aided College Teacher


ROUTINE 2022 (Upto June 2022)..Even Semesters




TRUNCATED SYLLABUS Odd semesters_2020

Truncated Syllabus (Even Semesters) Political Science, 2022

Syllabus for ODD Semesters, 2022

1st Semester Complete Political Science Syllabus, July 2022

3rd Semester Political Science Syllabus, July 2022

5th Semester Complete Political Science Syllabus, July 2022

Syllabus for EVEN Semesters, 2022-23

2nd Semester Political Science Syllabus

4th Semester Political Science Syllabus, Dec 2022

6th Semester Complete Political Science Syllabus, Dec 2022

GE  CBCS Syllabus (Complete for all Semesters)

SEC CBCS Syllabus (Complete for all Semesters)

Syllabus at FYUP 2023 (Odd Semesters)

Pol Science Major Syllabus

Pol Science Minor Syllabus

Ist sem SEC Syllabus FYUP